How to grow a Mexican Zoo

Recently, I discovered – as kind of a furry easteregg – three adorable little kittens in the garden next door. They measure maybe 4 inch / 10 cm and are still blind, crawling over each other.

Their mum is a pretty grey cat. I know her well, as I do the other eight (or wait… ten?) cats outside. We hold our morning meetings that include a lot of cat food, and of course, I provide a proper dinner for them.

Before moving to Mexico, I had never been much of a cat person. We always had dogs and it seems like we always have to decide early on: cat or dog? This is a very serious question as many people seem to think it reveals some hidden character qualities or flaws. When you tell a cat person that you are a dog lover, then they will wrinkle their noses and apparently see you as a complete nitwit. The other way round, a dog person will quickly judge you as a sexually frustrated, man-hating bitch (or if you are a guy: an uptight woos). Man, you can only lose here.

Shortly after we had moved into our new house, a little grey and white kitten showed up on our doorstep. Knowing that my husband was suffering from a cat allergy (and aware of the dangerous cat people flaws), I made sure that the little fellow wouldn’t enter our house. Of course. But then you carry some shopping bags and some handymen call on you – and all of a sudden, there is this little furball in your living room…

To cut a long story short, Pupuce (which is French for “little flea” or pulguita in Spanish) moved in, my husband’s allergy moved out. Needless to say that we are totally in love with our little Pupuce and as tiny as he was in the beginning, there was no doubt that he would rule this house. Our king.

However, my husband and I always wanted to have a dog. A small one, that we could take on the plane with us. But before we could make up our mind as to which shelter to go to, I found Pippa.

My parents were here for a visit when we saw a sad looking bitch trotting along the street. She was extremely skinny, hardly had any fur at all, but what really caught my attention was a rope tied around her neck, trailing behind her. I had already passed the dog when I decided to turn around, and then I spent about an hour with her on the street. At first, she shyed away the second I got closer, but after a while she let me touch her, so I could remove the rope. I was very hesitant to lift her, since she seemed in such a bad condition. Her bones were sticking out in a way that I thought she must have a tumour on her hip – which turned out to only be the bone. Her skin was all raw and flaky and you could see the fleas jumping about.

Apparently, she had been abandoned and tied to something where she could hardly move, as her behind was covered in horny skin. So I assume she must have been just sitting for weeks without getting any food or water. It always comes as a shock when you realize how cruel people can be.

Luckily, a very friendly lady stopped and brought me her transportation box for her dog so that I could get Pippa into the car and off to the vet. I had prepared myself to have her put down since she looked so terminally ill. However, the vet told me that she was only about 2 years old, had recently had puppies and apart from her skin condition which luckily was not contagious, she was a healthy young dog. Would I please give her frequent baths and some medication and then bring her back.

Oops, there I was with a very traumatized dog all of a sudden! And may I add, not a plane-friendly small dog. (In my mind, I still put her in the dryer to shrink her. Ugh, if it only were that easy!) Luckily, our little Mr Pupuce took an instant liking to her and slowly, slowly, Pippa turned into a beautiful young lady!

 

By the way, we did NOT think of Pippa Middleton when we picked the name, although I undeniably have a soft spot for the Royals. For lack of a proper name, we gave her the German nickname “Pueppi”, which means “little doll”, and Pippa got used to that name pretty soon. However, nobody here could ever pronounce this crazy German word, so we were looking for a similar name and came up with Pippa.

So now we are four. And it is hard not to further grow our family as there are so many stray cats and dogs around. Let’s see whether we can find a good home for those three babies next door. Otherwise, they are welcome to join our outdoor cat circle, of course!

 

 

2 thoughts on “How to grow a Mexican Zoo

  1. Pingback: Bye-bye, little Pupuce! | Expatially Mexico

  2. Pingback: How I ended up in my nightgown under an umbrella in the garden in the middle of the night | Expatially Mexico

Leave a Reply

