Mexican Home Remedies (or: The Happy Farting Dog)

On Monday, I went to the vet with our dog. Again, I might add, as we have been constant visitors to the vet since I found Pippa on the street in December. In those few months, she had to take pills against almost anything. Normally, I always try to find some alternative medicine, so I was relieved when finally the vet suggested a home remedy against her kennel cough: garlic, honey and bougainvillea blossoms.

A basket of garlic (allium sativum) offered fo...

A basket of garlic (allium sativum) offered for sale at the farmers' market in Rochester, Minnesota (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Apparently, this works for people as well. So if you ever suffer from a throat disease, you should prepare a tea out of the above-mentioned ingredients. The thought is quite repulsive to me, our dog however loves it! Unfortunately, not only does she smell of garlic now, but she also has a lot of gas – which she doesn’t seem to mind, she just lies there happily farting around. I sometimes fear that the roof might go off soon, so we are always glad to see her disappear in the garden…

I was proud to share this home remedy with our housekeeper Auri, since normally she is the one who gives me advice on what to take. To avoid an allergic reaction if you get bitten by a tabano (a horsefly) you do the following: You kill a few tabanos in advance and put them in alcohol. Now if you get bitten, you just put some of the alcohol on the bite. You might think I am crazy, but it does seem to help. And yes, it is disgusting, too.

In a previous post (https://expatiallymexico.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/magical-weight-loss-or-what/) I already told you about Auri’s diet strategies: eat pure aloe vera in the morning, and you won’t feel hungry for the rest of the day. Or drink a juice out of cactus, parsley, celery, aloe and grapefruit and the pounds will magically disappear. So far, no magic has happened to our housekeeper, but you never know… It might just take some time.

If you develop a cough, you should go and buy a bottle of tequila. Or better: several bottles of tequila.

tequila

tequila (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Then mix one part tequila with one part lemon juice and one part honey and gulp it down. You do this several times per day – and it said to also be suitable for children. My prediction is that they will pass out immediately and only wake up when the cough is gone. Long live home remedies!

3 thoughts on “Mexican Home Remedies (or: The Happy Farting Dog)

    • Hey Marcela, Thanks for stopping by! Just browsed through your blog very quickly, but I will take some more time to learn about all your furry companions – seems like a happy blog to me! 🙂

      • Your welcome. The picture of the beach is gorgeous. It reminded me of Ecuador. I used to live about 10 minutes away from the beach and it looked like the picture you posted. Gorgeous! Yes, stop by my blog. One of my passions happens to be dogs and some posts are funny while others are just my thoughts:)

Leave a Reply

