The Thing about New Year’s Resolutions

So it’s been a while since my last post, therefore, I would like to wish you all a very happy new year first!

Why I have been so unusually quiet? Truth is, I don’t really know. I think it had something to do with the holiday season. I just didn’t feel like spending a lot of time in front of the computer. And also, I wasn’t in a very chatty mood because I felt a little left over given that all my collagues and friends went home for the holidays or got visitors from home. As much as I love Christmas, being far away from our families doesn’t make this the jolliest time of the year for me.

Here, the holidays were very quiet. For me at least, though not for Mr. R. who was busy, busy, busy at work. After all, it is tourist season at the Riviera Maya!

Jaded Bullyvic Says: My New Year's Resolution,...

(Photo credit: ImNotMraBut)

In my last few classes before the holidays, my students asked me about my new year’s resolutions. Like every year I have to say: I have none. And I don’t really get the concept behind this. It seems like a lot of people are waiting for the new year to commence to make a necessary (in their eyes) change, but honestly, why wait? Once I determine the things I want to change in my life, isn’t it time to get crackin’?

A lot of resolutions are about healthier living. People want to eat less sweets or fatty foods or drink less alcohol and whatnot. So until 31st of December, they stuff their faces with whatever they crave for, and then boom! As of 1st of January, it’s only salad and water. Or they want to start an exercise routine. They have known about this for months, but also for months, they haven’t gotten their butts off the sofa. However, come new year, you can see them going for half hearted jogs blowing their lungs out. By March though, their enthusiasm has long faded away, and they fall back into their lazy routines – until come new year…

Well, I guess it is good they are making an effort to change, and some of course do stick to their intentions. Many however, when they talk about their new year’s resolutions, they say “I’ll try to do this and that.” That never fails to baffle me.Try? Why try? It sounds as if it were beyond their control when it is in fact in nobody’s control but theirs. Whenever somebody tells me that he or she “will try”, I know for sure that they will make some effort for a few weeks and then give up. And I mean, that’s ok, they just don’t have the willpower or the energy or whatever you may call it – not for this particular task. In the end, I believe it comes down to passion and motivation. How badly do we really want to change? And why do we want to change?

The curvy woman who finally wants to rock those skinny jeans but otherwise feels happy with her looks will probably not muster the willpower to really follow through on a strict diet. Or the smoker whose physicals always show great results will probably not be truly determined to quit smoking. Instead he will say, “I will try” – and fall off the wagon again after a few months of grumpiness. (I know what I am talking about, my dad quit smoking at least 10 times in his life, and I am not sure whether he or we were suffering more…)

I just never can resist a good (or in this case: somewhat good) cheese cake!

I just never can resist a good (or in this case: somewhat good) cheese cake!

I generally have a lot of willpower. (Wicked Mr. R. calls that stubbornness, though.) Once I decided I would get up every morning at 5 to do my yoga asanas, I just did it without thinking about it any further. But of course, that’s because I am passionate about yoga. On the other hand, I have an extreme sweet tooth, yet sometimes I come up with this crazy idea that I should eat less sweets. However, if I hadn’t noticed any weight gain in advance despite having eaten tons of chocolate and ice-cream, I can be sure that I will creep around the pantry nibbling on carrot sticks for a couple of days before I happily give in to my cravings again. The minute though that I see the numbers on the scale going up, I won’t touch anything sweet anymore for my vanity is even stronger than my sweet tooth. In fact, being the shallow being that I am, vanity is one of my strongest motivators.That’s nothing I can be proud of, but it’s a fact. You think I should make it my 2014 resolution to change that? 😉

In the end, I think it all depends on how important this matter really is to us. And when something is that important that we are willing to change old habits, it would be foolish to wait for the new year to start. When we are truly determined to make a change, we should hardly be able to wait until the next day, don’t you think?

How about you? Do you normally have new year’s resolutions? And do you stick to them?

14 thoughts on “The Thing about New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Oh my, she’s back 🙂
    Agree with you. I also have quite a bit of willpower, but I’ve got to be really ready to make changes, and then I’ll walk over bodies if need be, lol. And I’m ready when I’m ready, and that point doesn’t usually coincide with the 1st of January.
    On the other hand, the start of a new year is a good point to maybe tweak some projects that are already running, and so that’s what I’m doing right now.
    Cheese cake, you say…? Toss me some!

      • That would be great! Just got back from the dentist, and all I could feasibly manage to eat right now is microscopic crumbs 😉
        Good to have you back! You may have missed my SEX POST… lol.

      • Whoa, I will check that one out for sure. Certainly this got you a lot of traffic, right? I still get a lot of klicks on my German sauna nudity post, haha!
        Get better soon!

  2. Haha, good old vanity – one of life’s strongest motivators. Can definitely relate, in that it helps my self-improvement but that it’s certainly not something I’m proud of.
    I, also, aren’t a New Year’s Resolution type of person, but hey, if it works for someone else, why not? As long as it’s not they only time people try to change their habits!

    • Yes, I agree, if new year’s resolutions work for some, that’s great. Better late than never, right? I only think that often there is a huge potential for frustration when people are not truly motivated.
      Thanks for your feedback!

  3. Happy New Year! I myself am not a New Year’s resolution timing kind of person, but I do make changes occasionally, sometimes triggered by the clock, other times I just hit a turning point. In China they don’t have that custom, so I am free from the endless magazine articles and TV shows asking what your resolutions will be. I think it’s actually tougher without the reminders sometimes.

    • Huh, that’s interesting! Yes, maybe we get overwhelmed here with all this new year’s resolutions blahblah, but who knows, without it there might be something missing?
      Yes, I think it is vital to frequently review one’s behaviours and lifestyle and be ready to make some changes, otherwise we all get terribly stuck (and old!). It’s only this waiting until January 1st that I don’t seem to understand, but if that date motivates some people that’s certainly great!
      Thanks for reading!

  4. I’m not a big fan of making New Year’s resolutions, and I’ve felt very quiet myself with all of the resolution-themed post lately. I agree with your post – I’m more of the mindset that if something needs to change, just change it – and why wait for the false constraint of a new calendar year to do so, or to make up things that “need” to change?

    • Hmm, after reading all those comments I start to wonder whether this new year’s resolutions stuff is merely made up by the press to promote more home trainers, diet pills and whatnot… And yes, you are right, some of those resolutions seem to be made up and totally unnecessary.
      Thanks for your feedback!

  5. Totally agree with you, though I think it’s good to reflect on mindsets and perspectives that might need re-orienting every once in awhile, but not necessarily on Jan 1. I’m also not a huge new year resolutions person b/c inevitably, if you rely on willpower alone, you will fail. I think your point about how Vanity > Willpower is very perceptive, though I agree that perhaps that might bring up issues of its own.

    But I am a fan of realistic goal-setting once in awhile, and so it’s good to sit down and write things down. I think Expat Lingo and Yoda say it best! 🙂

    • Oh, I couldn’t agree more, Angela. Self reflection is one of the most important things in a yogic lifestyle!
      But most people come up with more “physical” resolutions, I believe, and often those were influenced by other people’s opinions. I believe that’s never going to work anyhow – be it new year or not.
      Good to hear from you again!!!

Leave a Reply

