Join my exclusive Club of the Ageless

Every now and then, my parents and in-laws surprise us with German films on DVD. And although we always enjoy watching something from home (preferably from our home town where we then can try to figure out streets and neighbourhoods), there is something highly disturbing about it: The actors are getting older!

English: Mickey Rourke at the Cannes film festival

Plastic surgery? What are you talking about? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Apparently, German actors are not so much into botox and plastic surgery as their Hollywood colleagues, and of course, not having seen them on the screen for some years makes the aging process even more obvious. All of a sudden, the actor I have always had a crush on, has gone bald! And the formerly doe-eyed actress shows signs of sagging skin, and her eyes – not so “doey” anymore.ย I have to say that sometimes I am highly indignant about this most unfortunate development. What’s happening to these people? Why is it that the world around us ages so much faster than ourselves? While we remain the same, day after day, children grow up, other people’s parents grow old – not my own, though, they haven’t changed a bit, I swear! The secret to this everlasting youth? My world stands still! I believe it must have stopped sometime in the early 90s (luckily not fashionwise!).

That’s why when I am reading about some celebrities who were born let’s say 1993, I am always surprised that they can already walk! Honestly, those kids sureย learn fast these days! Oh, wait… born 1993 means they are already 20, right? Which is kind of weird since I who was born in the 70s am also only in my 20s. (Yes, that’s right, it’s because time for me stopped in the 90s. See, it all makes sense!)

I have to say that I feel very comfy in my little time bubble that I share with friends and family and Robert Redford. If only we didn’t have to watch the world around us age!

Robert Redford

The only thing that has changed is the haircut! (Photo credit: mturro)

9 thoughts on “Join my exclusive Club of the Ageless

  1. ….and! I’ve just come back from shopping with my friend – I bought myself a lovely new summer dress, salmon pink with a ra-ra skirt. See, I’ve never left the 80s. That MUST qualify me for your club!!!!

  2. Yes, preach it sister! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m especially disturbed when younger friends (born in the late 80s and early 90s) all get excited about going dancing/clubbing on “90s nights…” When did 90s music become vintage?!… I mean, it’s not like the 70s or 80s… right? The 90s was just, like, yesterday, no? ๐Ÿ™‚ I admit that I’m still listening to music from the 90s and early 2000s, and I haven’t really kept up w/music these days…

Leave a Reply

