Last Year was just 5 Minutes ago, or: Mexican Yip Yips

Even if some people will hate me even more for saying this, I claim that time specifications of any kind should be considered redundant in Mexican Spanish, hence could be deleted from the dictionary. Let me explain:

Everybody knows that the Mexican “mañana” can actually mean anything from “tomorrow” to “never”. I also learned that there is a difference between “en un rato” and “en un ratito” which may be translated into “in a while” and “in a bit”. At first, when someone told me “I’ll be there en un rato” I expected that someone to show up within the next hour. But in fact, “un rato” is not much different from “mañana” as it can mean “in a few hours” or “never”, whereas “un ratito” seems to mean at least “today”.

Well, time is relative anyway, isn’t it? I was reminded of that today when a friend of mine announced she’d swing by for breakfast for all of a sudden I remembered that our doorbell is broken so she had to call me upon arrival for me to open the door. You would think a broken doorbell could easily be fixed when in fact, I’ve been waiting for those repair guys for 5 minutes now.

It all started when we moved in here in October and I quickly discovered that our doorbell wasn’t working. So I talked to our property management and they promised to send handyman R. over. He came en un rato which in this case meant the next day and uninstalled the interphone unit. He then said he needed to go and buy a missing tool in a shop that’s just down the street, so he’d be back in half an hour.

At 9 pm I sensed that R. probably wouldn’t show up again. Yes, sometimes I am a bit slow. 2 days later I decided to phone the office again, maybe there had been a misunderstanding of some sort. The lady told me to stay in for she would send him over again. En un rato.

To cut a long story short, he showed up a few days and many phone calls later, installed a new interphone and as that didn’t work either, he shrugged his shoulders and told me the system was faulty in the entire building. Nothing that could be done about it. We both sighed, and to me that was the end of the story.

However, a few weeks later I got an angry text from the lady at the property management company asking me why I wouldn’t open the door. As I was driving on the highway at that time, I called her a little later and explained to her I was out. Bummer. Apparently, some other handyman had decided to stop by and take a closer look at the matter. We made a new appointment for the following day which I didn’t take too seriously, but sure enough at 7pm somebody knocked on my door. 2 guys entered, examined the interphone and told me that it was the wrong device, that we were the only apartment having this problem, and could I please hand them the old unit. When I informed them that R. had taken that one, they deliberated for quite a while, very much to my delight bearing a striking resemblance to the Sesame Street “yip yip” Martians. Finally, one of the yip yips told me to stay put, they’d be back in 5 minutes.

Well, I am waiting. Boy, those are the longest 5 minutes of my life!

 

8 thoughts on “Last Year was just 5 Minutes ago, or: Mexican Yip Yips

  1. My building manager is always ‘on holiday’ when I need something. He was on holiday last September when I asked him to install a lock on my postbox instead of the gaping hole that’s currently there. He must still be on holiday I think… 😉

  2. Oh Kristin, what a pain!! I remember those ‘yip yip’ Sesame Street martians so well 🙂
    It’s interesting as my one time in-laws (both passed away now) were mexican and I was fasincated when they would argue as they would only speak in what my m-i-l said was ‘Mexican-Spanish’ which apparently is differently to actual Spanish! Come to think of it, they were always so late for everything, bless them… 🙂
    I do hope you get the problem sorted out soon!

    • Thank you, Sherri! The truth is that I gave up on that matter. Whoever wants to stop by has to call me – which can be a challenge as that means people have to pay their phone bills on time. 🙂
      Oh, definitely there is a huge difference between Spanish and Mexican Spanish! I had a few very funny misunderstandings as I originally studied Spanish in Madrid. Haha, and it doesn’t surprise me your in-laws were always late! 😀

Leave a Reply

